What’s in my makeup bag: The 1950’s look

8 Jul

The 1950’s…..oh how I adore everything about this era. Women were glamorous, voluptuous, flirtatious and oozed confidence. Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly, Liz Taylor, they all had this lady like allure that was and still is utterly infectious.
Marilyn Monroe

20120708-141636.jpg
Elizabeth Taylor

20120708-141710.jpg
Grace Kelly

20120708-141820.jpg

Here’s what’s in my makeup bag to create the 1950’s look:
Brushes

20120708-142231.jpg
To create this look I use a foundation brush, flat eyeshadow brush, blending brush for eye sockets, blusher brush and an angle brush for my eyebrows.

Primer, Foundation and Concealer
A primer is essential to create a flawless finish and will ensure your make up won’t melt off your face. I use Mac Strobe cream. I then apply my foundation, Chanel Vitalumiere, with a foundation brush. I use Mac Pro long wear concealer under my eyes to get rid of the dark circles! To make my look more matte, which was the main theme in the 50’s, I apply Bobbi Brown pressed powder all over.

20120708-142916.jpg

Blusher
I sweep 2 blushers over the apples of my cheeks with a blusher brush. I use Mac blusher in pink swoon and tenderling. Both of these combined give a lovely subtle glow.

20120708-143219.jpg

Eyes
It’s all about the eyes for me! I love the black winged eyeliner effect! I always prime my eyes first with Mac paint pot in painterly, I can’t even tell you how amazing this product is! I then use a flat brush to go over my eye lid using shroom eye shadow by Mac. Then, using a blending brush, I contour my eye socket using patina eye shadow by Mac.
My secret ingredient is my £1.99 eyeliner from Superdrug, 2 True Effortless eyeliner….I would totally recommend it. It makes it easy to create a great winged effect. I then apply LASHINGS of Bad Gal Lash mascara by Benefit.

20120708-143930.jpg

Eyebrows
1950’s eyebrows were well defind and angled. To create this I use a fan brush and fill my eyebrows in with a dark brown eyeshadow.

Lips
Last but definitely not least is the red lipstick! Oh red lipstick how I adore you! As soon as you put it on you feel so much more confident. I own numerous red lipsticks but my favouriates are Cambon Rouge Coco by Chanel and Red Russian by Mac.

20120708-144339.jpg

Extras
If I have time I add individual false eyelashes just to the outer corner of my eye to create an even more flirtatious look. I sometimes add a fake beauty spot using a black eyeliner pencil.

And voila…..the finished look…

20120708-144531.jpg

20120708-144547.jpg

X

20120708-150020.jpg

All made up and no where to go…..off to find my boyfriend.
Over and out
: )
X

4 Responses to “What’s in my makeup bag: The 1950’s look”

  1. Rachel July 12, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Super Stunning!!

  2. daisyisretro July 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Aww thank you Rachel xxx

  3. Asha Asha August 1, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Just discovered your blog viva Twitter and wow what a find! I love it! I agree with you completely in just about all aspects of your post. The 50’s, no that was the era right there. Well your 50’s look came out gorgeous, keep em coming!

Leave a Reply

